Capture Your Grief 2015- Day 6. Books

      Today’s Capture Your Grief asks us to share the books and stories that have helped on this journey.  I still read some of the books to my daughter’s ashes that I read to her in life. It was one of the things I did with her everyday and I feel close to her even now when I open one of her books. My mom bought Reason Birdy’s Smile Book by Laurie Keller  it was one of our favorites and It’s the one I read the most often to her now. No Matter What by Debi Gliori is a beautiful children’s book about the unconditional love of a patent for their child and a book I still read to Reason. Reason was gifted 2 copies of I Love You as Big as the World by by David Van Buren one from her grandparents and one from her God Mother.
        I read Welcome to the World by Debby Boone to her often and it was also a book she frequently chewed the edges. It was also one of the books we placed in her casket and I read to her at her wake.

image

     The 5 Languages of Love by Gary Chapman helped me reconnect to my husband after our daughter died.  It gave me perspective into his needs and mine.  I’m not religious but Gary had some really great ideas about love and relationships. 

      I’ve always been a book lover and it was something I tried to instill in Reason from the time I found out I was expecting. She was named after a character in a book I loved and I planned on getting a copy of the trilogy she was named after for her birthday or Christmas, maybe not her first but certainly one of them. Magic or Madness by Justine Larbalestier gave me my daughter’s name and I wish I had a copy of the trilogy for me and I’m sure I will one day.
    There are countless parents that blog about the loss of their children and so many have helped me.  A fellow loss mom who’s son passed this month last year has become a great friend on this journey,  you can follow her blog here. Another blog I’ve found very helpful to me is this one, this mother is a year ahead of me in her journey and I’ve learned so much reading her story.
Painting the House Pink had taught me so much about the grieving process and secondary losses, she’s a wonderful writer and even though we’ll never meet her words speak to me. I can’t pick a favorite blog I follow but they all mean so much to me, here’s one last one I’d love to share Grey Skies and Little White Boxes. I wish I could include all of the mother’s who have helped me through their words.  Just know if I follow you I read your posts and they touch me profoundly. 

Leave a Reply

