A Reason to Smile

     Today Reason would be 6 months old, in honor of her half birthday I’d like to share with you the joy she brought to our lives. I’m going to attempt to write a happy post. I want to share my daughters smile and I hope in can be as infectious in pictures as it was in person.

image

This was the first real smile I ever caught on camera, she was about six weeks old and we were on our way to Texas for her first vacation. She handled that car ride so much better than we had expected her too and the trip brought out a lot of smiles. She was always such a happy little girl. Alll I had to do was make a silly face or funny voice and I was granted the gift of that grin. It was on that trip that I started singing to her, “Smile for me babe, let me see your grill! Your what? Your grill!” She was often sneaky with her smiles, anytime I’d look away from her she’d smile at me and stop as soon as I’d looked at her or tried to take a picture. I swear she knew how badly I wanted to see it and would make a game of it.

image

Here’s another Texas smile. My mom had to be hospitalized because of food poisoning so Reason and I, along with my little brother and two of my younger sisters, spent the day hanging out in the bathroom. It was the only place with air conditioning and we were able to make our own fun.

image

This is her sleepy ferry ride smile. It was her first ferry ride and we saw so many dolphins, I couldn’t believe it! She was always so happy cuddled close to her mama. She was almost always cuddled up with me. I baby wore so she would always know I was right there.

image

One of my favorite smiles was her boobie milk smile. I was about to nurse her and decided to spray her face with my milk. The first face she made was a look of confusion but once she realized it was momma’s milk she gave me the biggest smile. Sometimes I would shake my boobie in her face over and over saying, “Boobie, boobie, boobie!” She thought it was the funniest thing in the word and I was almost certain that would have been her first word.

image

I loved her boobie smiles. Nursing was the best experience of motherhood. It gave us such a close bond and we always had a good time doing it. I loved that I could give her happiness, love and nourishment with nothing more than my body.

image

This is her “I love my toys!” smile. She got so excited when I handed those to her. She played with them and tried to show them off.

image

For having no words she was so expressive. She was able to communicate so many things so effectively.

image

Here is her grandma Henny’s favorite smile. It’s her “Stop it you!” smile. The smile she would have given to the boys showering her with compliments.

image

She loved her Henny very much and was not camera shy at all for this picture. She loved visiting her grandma and was able to pull her out of depression just by seeing her.

image

She was so excited in this picture! She loved standing up like a big girl. She would do it every chance she got! For someone who couldn’t walk she had some strong legs!

image

Here pumkin smile will always be one of my favorites. My mom got her a pumpkin for Halloween and I have never seen anyone so excited over something so small. She was amazed that it was for her and she could keep it. It makes me wonder how excited she would have been about Christmas and the puppy she would have been given.

image

We had an improptu photo session with a pumpkin and flowers. She wanted to eat those flowers so badly! She was just about to chomp down on obe when I got this picture.

image

The thing that made her happiest on Halloween was being allowed to chew on mamma’s glasses. She was teething and was alwats trying to get my glasses. I finally let her have them for this picture.

image

This is the last smile I ever got a picture of. She loved eating big girl food and carrots were her favorite! I would just give her the bowl and spoon and let her go to town! It was a mess but an adventure I didn’t want her to miss out on.

     Happy half birthday baby girl. I hope your memory and spirit will keep giving us smiles. We need them as we try to make it without you. Today I have smiled, writing this and remembering all the love and amazing times we had.

One thought on “A Reason to Smile

Leave a Reply

